South Australia’s most outstanding scientists and STEM professionals have been identified as finalists in the prestigious South Australian Science Excellence Awards.

“On behalf of the Marshall Government, I congratulate all the finalists – it’s important that scientists are acknowledged for their significant contribution to the state’s knowledge, wellbeing and economic growth,” Minister for Innovation and Skills David Pisoni said.

“The South Australian Science Excellence Awards are an invaluable opportunity to celebrate stories of scientific success that might otherwise not receive full recognition for the excellence and innovation that is delivered every day in research institutions across South Australia.

“Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths capability is fundamental to building South Australia’s future industries, particularly in defence, cyber security, health, agriculture, aged care, space and medical technologies.

“These finalists’ stories are vital in instilling confidence and inspiring our young people to pursue careers in these and other emerging fields.

“With 2019 marking the 15th year of the Awards, this year’s finalists will join an alumni of former finalists and winners delivering research, innovation and education excellence within South Australia and across the world.”

Chief Scientist for South Australia Professor Caroline McMillen highlighted how impressed she had been by the quality and competitiveness of the nominees put forwards for the Awards.

“It is clear given the remarkable ideas, discoveries and innovation across all STEM fields that South Australia is building a strong future as the ‘State of Science’,” Professor McMillen said.

Minister Pisoni said that this year’s Gala Dinner would be particularly special with the announcement of keynote speaker Dr Karl Kruszelnicki.

“Dr Karl is a qualified scientist, doctor and engineer well-known for his ability to spark scientific curiosity and present complex topics in a way that appeals to popular culture, something we’d like to see more of here in South Australia,” Minister Pisoni said.

The finalists for the 2019 South Australian Scientist of the Year award are:

  • Professor Jozef Gecz, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Emily Hilder, University of South Australia
  • Professor Sharad Kumar, University of South Australia
  • Professor Andre Luiten, University of Adelaide

For the list of finalists in all categories, visit the SA Science Excellence Awards website.

Winners of each category will be announced at a Gala Dinner on Friday, 9 August, kicking off National Science Week celebrations taking place from 10–18 August 2019.

To purchase tickets to the state’s premier celebration of science, click here.

Featured Image